January 27, 2009

  • last night made every penny i spent on my UPS worth it.

    i was sitting here minding my own business when the cable suddenly goes out.  i do some digging and call comcast, turns out it's a service outage (hurr) and i just have to wait it out.  so i'm doing some reading on my computer before hitting the sack and boom power outage.

    it was perhaps the weirdest computer usage scenario i've ever been in: i'm sitting in pitch darkness, with only my main monitor and my computer running.  my UPS never skipped a beat.  it clicked once, and the amber light started to blink to indicate mains power had failed and it had switched over to the battery.  after gawking at my setup for a second or two, i hit shut down and turn everything off.  it was like clockwork.

    had i not been here, the UPS would have done its job for maybe another fifteen minutes before shutting the computer down.  i was always a little curious how the scenario would play out - now that i know, i'm a lot more comfortable with it.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *