August 26, 2008

  • and, once again, bureaucracy stands between me and my goals.

    i'm sure some of you can recall how i have complained at length about the paper-pushing processes at SJSU.  specifically, about that one semester when they denied my grant paperwork and left me penniless for two months.  that wasn't the only incident, but it was by far the worst thing the university had done to me.

    ...until today.

    this week was to be the end of my "vacation" and the beginning of my job hunt.  i was supposed to start yesterday, but my insomnia and the subsequent dose of lorazepam made me rather loopy.  i didn't wake up until 6:00 PM, and by then i wasn't really up to pouring over job listings.  i did get enough brainpower flowing to e-mail two of my professors asking for recommendations, and both of them agreed, which made me quite happy.

    so i sat down and made the decision to start my researching today.  i got up at 10:00, procrastinated a bit, and about 20 minutes ago put my hands up and opened up the SJSU career center website.  i clicked the login link, typed in my information, and hit submit.

    Your account has been disabled. Please contact your Career Services Office for additional service

    so apparently as soon as someone graduates, their career center cuts you off.  they e-mailed me a form on friday, which i filled out and sent back.  but i have no idea how long this will take to process, and since i'd much rather go through the career center for this, i'm sort of dead in the water until they get everything set.  i can work on my resume, but there's only so much i can do with it.

    hell of a system, right?  "oh congratulations on your achievement, we will now cut off perhaps the best system for finding a career until you send us a form and we decide to process it."

    ;_;

Comments (1)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment